Skip to content
2009/10/13 / LAW

Happy New Year.

I’m not a huge fan of New Year’s Eve.  I don’t like going out and battling the crowds on “amateur night.”  I rarely can keep my eyes open until midnight.  I don’t make resolutions for the coming year.  I don’t wear funny hats and throw confetti and all that junk.  Instead, I think of my birthday as my New Year.

This year’s birthday stunk, not to be too blunt.  The kids were either just recovering from or just getting sick, thanks to a household emergency we were too cash-poor to go out for a special dinner, and I was cooking up a lovely sinus/ear infection.  Felt quite sorry for myself.  I found myself comparing this birthday to last year, which rocked.  Fresh flowers on the table, lots of love and lovely thoughtful hand-wrapped gifts from my family, good friends and takeout sushi and cocktails for dinner.  Beautiful.

This year?  Ugh.

I generally contemplate the previous year and make my resolutions on the anniversary of my birth, not December 31st.  Makes sense to me.  My first resolution this year?  To reschedule my birthday for November.  I am an adult and therefore allowed to make decisions such as these.

Leave a Reply

